Testing… Is this thing on?

Earlier this year I made a goal to write a book. I had an idea, an outline, even wrote a few thousand words. But I have to admit that I will not be able to finish the book this year. As is so often the case, I lost interest after a few weeks of obsession.

This was (and still is) a point of embarrassment. But I bring it up in a public forum such as this because it illustrates the idea of the gap vs. the gain.

In the short ebook “The Gap and The Gain” Dan Sullivan explains that measuring progress is good, but it’s best when we measure our progress against our starting point instead of against our ideal. Sure, I failed to write a book, but I made progress.

If I want to be a successful writer, I need to write. So, how about a blog? Now then, I need your help.

This platform has a bit of history and maybe some people who would even consider themselves interested in reading more things I would come up with. Is that you? If you have read this, won’t you please leave a comment below? If there is some sort of built-in audience, I’ll make this space my home for future writing endeavors. If not, I’ll find something new.

Thanks!

Leave a comment